The Future’s Promise

As I reread someone else’s musings
dreams and fears
Sullen waves bombard my psyche
and I know the guilt
As I realize
there is purpose in divining for others.

All this time, feeling alone
taken for granted
taken for a ride
moments of progression
shall soon fall underfoot
under sabotage
Lying in the shadows
for safe haven
just to prevent having my reality destroyed
by people to serve selfish ends

Suddenly I realize that I’m not alone
but my fear waxes skepticism
And I fear I am no better
to people who need me
than are those to me, whom I once needed.

But there you shine
as you guide other lost children
to find me

Do I offer something that they seek –
or is this the service I pay you
through my insight
to help them remember who they were –
to help them remake themselves
Sacrificing what I have
to rebuild a forgotten caste
and world.

Leave a Reply

