Prayers to Tiamat

Smoke rise and ash, fall

as flame touches down upon black wax

spark the glow of the universe

and cast your satin finish upon me.

Who knows you these days

O fair matron

that knoweth themselves from clay or stone?

Lady of an abyss

that men know not

Who remembers your name

or birthright

better than their own purpose and desires

For I know not of any, but my own

devoted search, through my becoming

Seeking to know and remember you

reaching for abysmal places

where few wander

My devotion,

My search,

though not always conscious

yet too strong to deny.

And in moments of ecstasy

a second name,

a sacred name,

“fierce dragoness”

the coiled pulse in my heart

Impenetrable voice of the darkness

that moves these trembling vocal chords

as though

delicate fingers tap the strings of my soul.

Bring me into your velvety embrace

melting away this illusion – long enough

to comfort with sonic waves,

waves of the eternal black sea

and strengthen thy resolve with patience and virtue

in this nominal union

And with this voice I am given

shall I sing to the dead

and sing to the stars

to sing of you.

One thought on “Prayers to Tiamat

  1. I particularly love this one. Long-misunderstood is Tiamat… and we, humanity, are most deserving of such words as yours which inspire, they remind us of what we know in our hearts and even down to our very blood to be true of the creatrix: she who was before all.

    Queen of the formless deep!

Leave a Reply

