Hecatean Meditations

I could regale you
with the splendours of the ages
or recite platitudes
given to you by the ancient peoples
But time is thin
as your shades draw nigh
Your sight is dynamic
in its transitional reign
And I too feel the pull
of the inward resonances
that call me to take a seat
before the spectral altar
in the depths of the dreamtime
Where shadows dance
to the rhythms
of your ancient and soft repose.

And, dear lady
I have come not
to seek reprieve or salvation
from the demons I now face
yet ask for a glimpse
into the starless mirrors
in search of the strength
to stand long and proud
emboldened by the embrace
of the fate at whose stars
I cannot change.

Leave a Reply

