Memories and Revelries

Ages I have forgotten

like monoliths of glass turned to sand

not knowing if I can ever have simplicity

shining into my eyes

as golden as the morning sun.

I have raised soldiers and kings.

Raised them from the dust

into the starry heights

and watched them remake the heavens.

 

I have loved such men

and turned the mirror on their souls

to show them their worth.

For a good man is worth his weight

in virtue and grace.

 

I have dressed in satin

flowing with garlands of red and white.

Guiding the fates of man

for a cause no less than divine.

 

I have dressed in rags,

tattered and dissolute

to find the lost souls

who have fallen far from the heights

of the celestial palaces

where they were grown

to say goodbye and to bring some home.

Leave a Reply

