A Letter to a wounded Son

The words I feel when I gaze upon your countenance
Oh distant child of mine
A mother knows who shares her spirit,
She knows her kindred, for they bleed the same.
You are my shining light,
And that is why you take my actions so personally.
Perhaps you’ve grown comfortable with your distrust of women,
Or motherly figures who break your heart.
Maybe this is why all you know how to do
is bring up the moments I have stood in indecision.
It is a difficult rock to climb, but not every decision I make
is all about you.
There are choices I must make for myself.
Sometimes remaining above the fray of the human heart
is the brightest path.
Sometimes standing beside someone who has caused so much pain
is the only place to stand.

2 thoughts on “A Letter to a wounded Son

Leave a Reply

