Return

how many times can we dance
around one another,
yet never see that we create the magnetic force
that attracts and repels,
i realize now that i am not the only one
running and hiding,
the fall has come and suddenly i feel home,
wherever home is.
and yet, in my heart i know precisely
the place i choose not to name,
and the ties that bind me to you.
i look back on a life that revealed to me,
early on the path to you
and sounding too much like a prophecy,
like the strands of wyrd,
over which i lost my autonomy,
i reviled the very nature of its plan
and in my finest antinomian display
i chose to walk away,
just to show you I could.
No pain weighs heavier in my heart
than the declaration of others to know best
my heart and mind,
and as the years have passed by
I am left with a singular expression,
that nobody knows my heart as well as you .
I hung on the tree,
clinging to my autonomy,
my separateness of being,
but I know separateness is an illusion,
and in the void in my heart,
desire to know that connection again,
rapaciously yearning for dissolution
into what has always been ours.

Leave a Reply

